clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kedon Slovis named to the 2020 Davey O’Brien Watch List

Slovis joins a star-studded cast on the preseason list

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: DEC 27 Holiday Bowl - USC v Iowa Photo by Brian Rothmuller/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The 2020 preseason award watch lists are coming in hot and heavy — and you guessed it — Kedon Slovis has found his way to one.

The 2020 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List firmly plants Slovis among the nation’s best, announcing him as one of 30 different quarterbacks on the prestigious list.

Slovis is joined by a who’s who of quarterbacks including Ohio State’s Justin Fields, a semifinalist last season, as well as seven other semifinalists from the 2019 season (Brock Purdy, Sam Ehlinger, Shane Buechele, Charlie Brewer, Trevor Lawrence, Tanner Morgan, Brady White).

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and has been given out since 1981. Since then, no USC quarterback has won the award, not even Carson Palmer or Matt Leinart.

It has been won by the three most recent Heisman Trophy winners in Baker Mayfield, Kyler Murray and Joe Burrow before being won by Deshaun Watson in consecutive years in 2015 and 2016.

It is named after Davey O’Brien, a former college football player and is voted upon by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, given out during an annual awards and trophy ceremony in Fort Worth, Texas.

Sixteen semifinalists will be named on November 10, after enough weeks of the 2020 season as to determine enough to cut the list by nearly half.

It is currently scheduled to be awarded at the 44th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Monday, February 15, 2021.

Fight On!