clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USC C Brett Neilon named to Rimington Trophy watch list

Neilon makes the cut ahead of the 2020 season

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: DEC 27 Holiday Bowl - USC v Iowa Photo by Brian Rothmuller/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

USC Trojans center Brett Neilon was named to the 2020 Rimington Trophy watch list, the award annually given out to the nation’s top center.

The Rimington Trophy is given out by the Boomer Esiason Foundation and supports the cystic fibrosis community. As a member of the National College Football Awards Association, it serves as a fundraiser for the fight against cystic fibrosis.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American from the four separate recognized All-America Teams — AFCA, WCF, SN and FWAA.

It has been given out annually since 200 and yet, no Pac-12 player has ever won the award.

The most recent winner was Wisconsin’s Tyler Biadasz.

Neilon has 17 career games, starting 12 of those games at center. The redshirt junior played high school football at Santa Margarita Catholic and should anchor a solid line for USC this season.

Congratulations, Brett!