clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Trojans make Bednarik and Maxwell Watch Lists

USC's last Bednarik Award winner was Rey Maualuga in 2008 while they haven't had a Maxwell winner in over 30 years when Marcus Allen won it in 1981.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The Chuck Bednarik and Maxwell Awards are given every year to the top players in college football. The Bednarik Award is given to College Football's Defensive Player of the Year while the Maxwell Award is given to the College Football Player of the Year.

Both award watch lists were released today and three Trojans made the list. Linebacker Su'a Cravens and cornerback Adoree' Jackson were on the Chuck Bednarik watch list while quarterback Cody Kessler was named on the Maxwell watch list.

Cody Kessler put up statistically one of the best season's in USC history last year as he completed 315 of 452 passing attempts (69.7%) for 3,826 yards and 35 touchdowns to just five interceptions. Kessler ranked in the top ten in the nation in numerous categories and also broke or tied six USC records.

Su'a Cravens developed into a hybrid safety/ linebacker last year and had 68 tackles, 17 tackles for a loss, five sacks, three interceptions, and one defensive touchdown. His 17 tackles for a loss were the most by any defensive back in 2014.

Adoree' Jackson had one of the best true freshman seasons in the nation last year as he played on all three-sides of the ball. Jackson had 49 tackles and 10 deflections and didn't allow his first touchdown of the season until the Holiday Bowl.

Here are the full watch lists for both awards.