clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USC Football 2015: Adoree’ Jackson named to Thorpe Award Preseason Watch list

You can add Jackson’s name to another preseason award watch list, this time for best defensive back

Russ Isabella-USA TODAY Sports

The sky-high expectations for Adoree' Jackson rose a little more as it was announced that he is one of 42 defensive backs in the nation to make the Jim Thorpe Award 2015 preseason watch list. The Thorpe Award is given to the nation's best defensive back.

Jackson can also be found on the 2015 preseason watch lists for the Hornung Award, The Bednarik Award and the Nagurski Award. This is in addition to a fine track and field performance in the spring and a football all-American in 2014.

Should Jackson win this season he would join the only one other Trojan to win the Thorpe Award (Mark Carrier, 1989). Taylor Mays was a finalist in 2008, as was the legendary Troy Polamalu in 2002 (which makes you wonder how great of a season Terrance Newman of Kansas State must have had in 2002 to beat out Troy).

Follow us on facebook and twitter.