clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The NCAA’s 2015 College Football Awards

Derrick Henry cleaned up this year, while the USC Trojans were shut out.

Cary Edmondson-USA TODAY Sports

Alabama running backs continue to impress voters, as Derrick Henry comes away with the Walter Camp Award, given to the nation's player of the year, the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's premiere running back, and the Maxwell Award, given to the college play of the year.

Although several Trojans were on early watch lists, a tumultuous season took its toll and none were included on the final ballots.

The Clemson Tigers undefeated season netted them two trophies, with Deshaun Watson taking home the Davy O'Brien Award, given to the nation's best quarterback, and Dabo Swinney was named Home Depot Coach of the Year, ensuring plenty more catch phrases and charming, self effacing, rhetoric to come.

The Pac-12 boots took some hardware home, as UCLA's kicker Ka'imi Fairbairn received the Lou Groza Award and Utah's Tom Hackett won the Ray Guy Award, given to the country's best place kicker and punter respectively. This is Hackett's second year in a row on top of the punting game. He also won the internet.

The Nick Schober Stiff Arm Award will be presented to JuJu Smith-Schuster as soon as the NCAA returns my calls.