clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USC football: Buck Allen Awarded Team MVP

Doug Pensinger

In amongst the fervor of Hesiman hopefuls, Academic All-Americans and top-notch Pac-12 talent, the Trojans gave out their fair share of awards Friday night at the annual team banquet at USC's Tutor Campus Center Ballroom.

Despite an up-and-down season filled with coaching changes, upset victories and plenty of star performances, the team remains focused on winning its 10th game next Saturday in the Las Vegas Bowl. That being said, players loved the opportunity to celebrate all the personal achievements with their teammates.

Sophomore tailback Javorius Allen was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2013 Trojan football team. Allen, who also won the Jack Oakie "Rise and Shine" Award for longest run of the year, currently has 699 rushing yards and 219 receiving yards in 2013. His magical run began by bursting onto the scene with a 16-rush, 133-yard performance in the Trojans' rare road victory at Oregon State.

In his last five games, Allen has scored 11 touchdowns while posting four 100-plus yard games on the ground. Offensive stars Cody Kessler (Academic Award), Soma Vainuku (Special Teams POY) and Nelson Agholor (John McKay Award) nabbed awards on that side of the ball.

On the defensive side, USC's No. 42, Devon Kennard, came up just short in the Ronnie Lott Trophy last week but captured the Most Inspirational Player Award and won the Trojan Football Alumni Club Award for the team's top GPA. The bulkiest and most powerful award of the night was shared between captain Hayes Pullard and OT Chad Wheeler for Co-Lifter of the Year.

Check out the complete list of award winners as voted by the players, for the players and with USC totally in mind.

Most Valuable Player: tailback Javorius Allen

Most Inspirational Player: outside linebacker Devon Kennard

Trojan Way Leadership Award: outside linebacker Devon Kennard, linebacker Hayes Pullard

Linemen of the Year: center Marcus Martin (offense), defensive end Leonard Williams (defense)

Perimeter Players of the Year: tailback Javorius Allen and wide receiver Nelson Agholor (offense), cornerback Josh Shaw and safety Dion Bailey (defense)

Special Teams Player of the Year: fullback Soma Vainuku

Service Team Players of the Year: quarterback Conner Sullivan (offense), linebacker Nick Schlossberg (defense)

Jack Oakie "Rise and Shine" Award (year's longest run): tailback Javorius Allen (80 yards vs. California)

Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award: outside linebacker Devon Kennard

Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): quarterback Cody Kessler

John McKay Award (underclassman with the most competitive spirit): wide receiver Nelson Agholor

Joe Collins Walk-on Award: tailback Taylor Ross...Ross suffered quite the gruesome injury earlier this season but always had the support of his players by his side while recovering from knee surgery.

Courage Award: tight end Randall Telfer, wide receiver Marqise Lee

Lifters Award: outside linebacker Devon Kennard, offensive tackle Chad Wheeler