clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Taj Gibson is named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year

As disappointing as the season was when compared to its expectations this is a litttle bit of a silver lining...

All season forward Taj Gibson and point guard Daniel Hackett were USC’s two best players. The Pac-10 coaches agreed, selecting Gibson as the conference defensive player of the year and him and Hacket to the all-conference second team.

USC did not have a player named to the first team rubbing a little more salt in the wound.

Here is more of the various lists...


  • DeAngelo Casto, WSU, F
  • DeMar DeRozan, USC, F
  • Jeremy Green, STAN, G
  • Jrue Holiday, UCLA, G
  • Isaiah Thomas, WASH, G
  • Klay Thompson, WSU, G

Honorable Mention: Kyle Fogg (ARIZ, G).


  • Alfred Aboya, UCLA, C/F
  • Darren Collison, UCLA, G
  • Taj Gibson, USC, F
  • Daniel Hackett, USC, G
  • Jordan Hill, ARIZ, F

Honorable Mention:

  • Venoy Overton, WASH, G
  • Jeff Pendergraph, ASU, F
  • Seth Tarver, OSU, G/F

Congrats guys...Good luck in the Pac-10 Tournament