clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pac 10 Basketball Awards

The Pac 10 announced its annual basketball awards for the 2006/2007 season.

From the Pac 10 Official Website:

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Chase Budinger, Arizona
COACH OF THE YEAR: Tony Bennett, Washington State


AFFLALO makes his second All-Pac-10 appearance. He was also named to the All-Pac-10 Freshman team in 2005. He leads the Bruins, and is third in the conference, averaging 17.2 points per game. Afflalo has scored in double figures in 29 consecutive games and his led the Bruins in scoring in 17 games this year. He's currently the Pac-10's active scoring leader with 1,447 career points, which ranks 21st on UCLA's all-time scoring list. His 199 career three-pointers rank second all-time in Bruin history. He's started 97 of a possible 98 games during his career. He becomes the fifth different Bruin to be honored as Pac-10 Player of the Year, joining Marques Johnson (1977), David Greenwood (1978, 79), Kenny Fields (1983) and Ed O'Bannon (1995).


BUDINGER becomes the first Wildcat to earn Pac-10 Freshman of the Year since Salim Stoudamire in 2002, and the fifth Wildcat overall to earn the rookie honor. He's seventh in the league in scoring (15.8 ppg) and 12th in rebounding (5.9 rpg). He's started all 29 games this season and ranks 10th in the league in minutes played with 33.21 per game, wich is second among all Pac-10 freshmen. He's posted a pair of 30-plus point games this season, including a career-best 32-point effort against Northern Arizona in his home debut on Nov. 15.


BENNETT, 37, has guided WASHINGTON STATE to a 24-6 record, including a 13-5 mark and second-place finish in Pac-10 play. It's the Cougars best league mark and finish since posting a 14-4 record for a second-place finish in 1982-83. The 24 victories are the most by a Washington State squad since the 1940-41 team posted a 26-6 record. Bennett becomes the fourth coach to earn the honor in his first season in the Pac-10. He joins Gary Cunningham (UCLA, 1977-78), Jim Anderson (OSU, 1989-90) and Ben Braun (CAL, 1996-97) as first time winners in their debut seasons in the Pac-10. Bennett becomes the third Cougar coach to be honored, joining George Raveling (1975-76 and 1982-83) and Kelvin Sampson (1990-91).

Hard to ague with any of these selections. Afflalo is a stud we have seen what he can do and will be tough to stop in the tournament and next season. Budinger is scary good and will be a force for years to come. Bennett did a great job taking over for his dad, but it shouldn't surprise anyone.

Here is how SC fared:

All Pac 10:

Nick Young USC G/F Jr

All Pac 10 Freshman:

Taj Gibson USC F

Congrats to all the winners and nominees!